It’s not the end. It’s not the beginning of the end. But it is the end of the beginning.

Closing in on the finish line at the brickyard

Closing in on the finish line at the brickyard


Beta draft complete? Check!
Manuscript with editor? Check!

I am on the downward slope now, ladies and gentlemen. Heading toward the finish line. The famous black and white lines, or the row of bricks if you are an Indy fan.

I’ve been away for two weeks so a lot to cover. Strap in and let’s go. First up, Editing progress:

Progress Meter

 

Page 580/ 580 (100%)

 

Editing is complete!

I’ve actually snuck quite a bit of work in over the last two weeks. I transferred my red pen edits from paper to the computer. I wrote a whole new chapter. This then needed revision because it was a draft scene and the rest of the novel had seen at least three edits.

Then I went back over the last 10 chapters and with a sharp knife gutted the prose for every inch of flab I could find.

Then I went back to the beginning of the novel and inserted a few details, here and there, to balance and foreshadow some elements later in the novel.

Then I had another quick flick through.

Only then did I pass the novel to the beta readers.

. . .

Before and After

A quick comparison of the various edits. The word count has driven a roller coaster while the chapter count has gone up. In between these completion points the word count rose to 132,000 words before being culled. I envisage that when the story is put through the editing machine again it should come out around the 120,000 word mark. I’d be pretty happy with that.

Comparison of Drafts

Beta Readers

So as I mentioned above all Beta readers should have a copy of the novel in their inboxs. This is their opportunity to see an official Elite:Dangerous novel in a near ready to release form. I hope you all enjoy it. I’d love to hear your feedback at john_at_andherethewheel_dot_co_dot_nz

Fantastic Publishing

Two things there. First: Very soon the Indiegogo campaign to create and supply free audiobooks will finish. Not only is this a good cause but it will also mean that ‘And Here The Wheel’ will be released as an audiobook. If anyone has a spare dollar please throw it the way of Dan and his team.

Secondly, the complete novel is now with my editor at Fantastic Books. I have already had some feedback on the first three quarters of the novel. Minor stuff, tweaks, clarification of point of view, small things to make the story just that little bit better. Once I have all the feedback I’ll be going through and doing another edit, complete with any feedback from the beta readers.

What Happens Next?

My editor will finish reading the novel and provide feedback which I’ll take on board for the next edit. I’ll be keeping microsoft word closed for a wee bit though. I’ll have a bit of a break from the writing because I need to turn my attention to other aspects of the ‘And Here The Wheel’ project. I’ve been working with Fantastic Books on this and I have a whole load of things lined up for you guys. This is what I’ll be working on for the next bit and you’ll see some big changes, soon.

Did you want a teaser? Did you see the new background? Alpha readers (and soon Beta readers) will know exactly what it is. The rest of you will just have to wait a little bit longer.

While I have been racing to complete this latest edit I haven’t had the time to work on the podcast. I will be getting back into the swing of that soon as well. The next backers newsletter is also due out soon so look out for that if you pledged to support And Here The Wheel to the newsletter or above.

—-

So pretty momentous milestone done and dusted. No rest for the wicked though. I’m not just writing a story here, I’m marketing it as well and this is going to start soaking up some time. Looking forward to it 🙂

Ok team, catch you next time.

Cheers,

John

4 responses to “It’s not the end. It’s not the beginning of the end. But it is the end of the beginning.

  1. Wow, congratulations on reaching this point in the novel. It’s an amazing achievement! I’ve barely finished the first draft of mine, being about a quarter of the way through my second draft. A nice website you’ve got here, although I personally found reading white text on a transparent background with another image behind that to be somewhat disconcerting. Take a break – you sound like you deserve it :).

Leave a Reply

