This Ladies and Gentlemen, is the END GAME & Podcast Ep 9 – Progress Report 5/8/13

The end is nigh for this edit of the novel.

The end is nigh for this edit of the novel.

Hello and welcome to what is hopefully the last update before I finish this edit of the novel.

A big moment coming up here, folks. Time for me to have a break and a time for some of you to step up and help me out.

I’ll talk about the plan in a bit. First though, let’s get through the metrics.

Editing Metrics:

Progress Meter

 

254/ 270 (94.0%)

 

Page Count For The Week: 29.

Updated Word Count: 128,124

Real Life Moment of the Week:

This whole weekend was one big ‘tidy up the house for open homes’ moment. My dad came up to help which was brilliant. It was like having a second me to help out, but a second me that has more experience and ideas. We dominated the property and got everything looking pretty slick. Too bad we’re trying to sell it 🙂 Isn’t it always the way?

Another point, perhaps more relevant to the novel is that I sent the first 6,000 words of the novel to the New Zealand Society of Authors who have a manuscript appraisal service. I got the report back on my submission and it was pretty positive feedback. A few things to look at which I’ll touch up before the alpha readers see it, but it was an encouraging piece of feedback which basically said I’m doing the right things. Woop woop!

Repaired Faux-Pas of the Week:

I edited through a few scenes and got into the end game of the novel and realised I needed another scene back about twenty pages earlier. It’s actually pretty important. It’s a scene from the antagonist’s point of view and there is a crucial piece of knowledge in it. I couldn’t be bothered going back to fix it so once I finish the edit I’ll race back and slip the scene in.

Edittation of the Week

This weeks’ example is an interesting one. First the edit tidies up the wording, but I also use this little sequence to add some character development as well. You’ve always got to keep your eye out for an opportunity to show the growth of the characters.

Before:

A floor plate creaked underfoot and Robert nearly tripped over a loose rivet. he winced as his shredded ab muscles tried to catch him.

AO grabbed his shoulder and pulled him back up. “Is there anything else to this place?”

Robert shook his head. “No. This is it. A hastily prepared landing bay. It stretches about a kilometre into the asteroid. Nothing else. It’s not a trade station. There’s no services, maybe a few tools lying around. Flight control is the responsibility of the first arrival. It’s a place to lay low, barter, trade information and hide while people like you are on the warpath.”

After:

They walked in silence, each step ringing out across the floor. A plate creaked and Robert tripped over a rivet. He stumbled, cried out, his shredded abdominals trying to catch him.
Gunn straightened him up. “You should be in a hospital.”

“I should be a lot of things.”

Their eyes met for a moment, then Gunn looked away. “Is there anything else to this place?”

Robert shook his head. “No. This is it. A hastily prepared landing bay. It stretches about a kilometre into the asteroid. Nothing else. It’s not a trade station. There are no services, maybe a few tools lying around. Traffic control is the responsibility of the first arrival. It’s a place to lay low, barter, trade information and hide while people like you are on the warpath.”

Commander's Log Cover art
Commander’s Log Podcast

Apologies again for the delay in the podcast but it is now ready for your listening pleasure. Episode 9 ‘Hysteria in Tionisla’ can be found on the Podcast page.

A big thank you to David Hughes for catching up with me and also thanks to ‘Alien’ and ‘CMDR Arbanax’ for lending me their vocal talents.

The podcast should be up on iTunes overnight, but if you can’t wait that long and don’t really want to go to the podcast page, then you can just click on the link below:

(Music courtesy of Stellardrone)

The Plan

So I’m ninety four percent of the way through this edit. If I stick to my current work load I’ll be finished in four days.

Then I’ll be adding the missing scene that I mentioned above. I’ll tidy up a few things in the opening as detailed in the manuscript appraisal I received.

I still have around 70-80 editing comments in the manuscript. I’ll quickly flick through these again, seeing If I can answer/remove any of them. Most of them I won’t be able to answer as I’ll need Frontier Developments for that.

Then I’ll be sending the story out to my alpha readers. This is a crucial step. Your feedback will give me fresh perspectives on the story. Things that make sense in my head might not make sense to you and I need to know that. Breakdowns of logic, bits that felt too rushed, too slow, too confusing, all these things are what I need to know about. I’ll prepare some questions for the readers to help guide their thought processes.

If you want to get a sneak preview of the novel it’s not too late to join the alpha reading team. Check out the Supporters tab to find out more. You can help shape the novel and help contribute towards the ‘And Here The Wheel’ audiobook dream.

While I’m waiting for my lovely Alpha readers to get back to me I have a few things to tidy up. I have a short story that needs to be reviewed and sent back out into the wilderness. I’m doing a flash fiction writing course (because I can) and I have some points to earn back with my wife.

While the Alpha readers are busy I’ll also be sending the manuscript to Frontier Developments for their comment, as well as another individual but you’ll need to listen to the podcast to find out more 🙂

New Lave Radio Segment

Just a quick note that John Stabler of Lave Radio fame used me as a guinea pig for a new segment on Lave Radio called ‘Backers Views’. The interview can be found here. We discuss PvP, the DDF and Alpha/Beta testing among other things.

—–

So the count down is on to the end. By next weeks update I should be wrapping things up and the Alpha readers should have a shiny copy of the work in progress. Thanks for stopping by. PS. I currently have 666 people signed up for emails. Can someone help me out and sign up so I’m on, say 667? Thanks.

John

One response to “This Ladies and Gentlemen, is the END GAME & Podcast Ep 9 – Progress Report 5/8/13

  1. You’re really storming ahead. John, and that’s great to see. I’m hoping that you can maintain your momentum and get both this round of edits sorted and find some easy and elegant solutions to any suggestions your alpha readers make.

    There’s one golden ‘rule’ with accepting feedback – trust your instincts. No two readers will interpret a piece of writing the same way. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

