Fictional Hijinks- Progress Report 22/7/13


A bit of a roadblock this week. . .

A bit of a roadblock this week. . .

Hijinks.  Damn Fictional Hijinks.  

Trying to rewrite scenes but still keeping them true and honest for the character so they are staying in character.  Not easy.

Mustn’t grumble though.

No more musings on backstory this week.  I wasn’t getting any feedback on it, so I guess it wasn’t terribly interesting to anyone.  That’s ok, If I hit enough wrong buttons I’ll eventually work out what the right buttons are.

Or, as Sherlock Holmes would say, ‘when you have eliminated the boring topics, whatever remains, however improbable, must be exciting’
So no big external topics today, just a little introspection instead.

On that note I’ve changed the metrics slightly, based on some feedback.  I would love to hear what you think.  email is at john_at_andherethewheel_dot_co_dot_nz if that is a way you’d prefer to give feedback.

Editing Metrics:

Progress Meter

 

190/ 262 (72.5%)

 

Page Count For The Week: 33.

Updated Word Count: 126,041

Fictional News

So, as quite often happens, I’ve had a week of two halves. I started the week with the foot to the floor and I raced through my editing. I was looking pretty good to crack into the 200’s for the page count.

Then I hit a road block. A scene. It needed a rewrite, and damn but it took me two days to figure out what to do with it.

And in the end it was a bit of a cop-out, to be honest. The scene fits better, reads better and is more fun, I think, but its not what I was kind of hoping for. In saying that the scene doesn’t need to be grand and shouldn’t be grand. Its almost a get from A to B scene so it doesn’t deserve or warrant alot of words or ‘in story’ time. I’ve fixed it and moved on but I’ve flagged it for the Alpha readers and hopefully I’ll get some feedback that can either steer me in the right direction or help me decide to leave it the hell alone.

However, the editing count rallied somewhat after this scene and managed my highest edited page count. Blasted into the 30’s, right past my age to a number that is . . . bigger than my age.

Yus! *fist pump*

If I can pull this off again a few more times I’ll have this edit all done in a few weeks.

Real Life Moment of the Week:

If you listened to the latest podcast you would have heard me finding new employment. I’m working through my four weeks notice before I move to the new job. However I was still able to help the new job by interviewing another engineer who would be working under me. Pretty successful experience. I’ll be hearing back next week what the outcome is.

Repaired Faux-Pas of the Week:

As an opposite to last weeks Faux-Pas, this week I have come across a scene that is in a zero gee starship and everyone is running around with mag boots for a reasonable action scene. That’s fine, but it isn’t awesome. The scene could be so much better if I stopped thinking like Khan and started thinking third dimensionally.

Edititation of the Week

There have been some big edits this week, too big for a weekly update, but here is a subtle edit example because sometimes thats what editing is. Not big, wholesale changes and big rewrites. Sometimes its a word here, some punctuation there, reordering of events to make them clear. So have a read and see if the second version is better than the first.

Before:

She flew out, out into the darkness, out into the freezing coldness, out into the empty black. The remlock clamped across her face and something clamped around her ankle, jarring her to halt. Wind roared past her, ripping at her clothes, pulling at her skin. Rifles and guns flew past, one hitting her in the back. She screamed silently as the weapon tumbled away into the depths. She inched further outward, an inexorable slide to oblivion. One of the ____ stooges spun past her, mouth stretched in an agonising scream. Then the wind slowed and she jarred to a halt again. She craned her neck around. Robert was outside too, hanging on by his boots, both hands wrapped around her one ankle.

After:

She flew out, out into the darkness, out into the freezing coldness, out into the empty black. The remlock clamped across her face, her pressure suit squeezed, bodies and weapons and glass shards flashed past and something clamped around her ankle, jarring her to halt. Wind roared past her, ripping at her clothes, pulling at her exposed skin. Rifles and pistols flew past, one hitting her in the back. She screamed silently as the weapon tumbled away into the depths. She inched further outward, an inexorable slide to oblivion. One of the ____ stooges spun past her, mouth stretched in an agonising scream. Then the wind slowed and she jarred to a halt again. She craned her head back. The pirate was outside too, hanging on by his boots, both hands wrapped around her ankle.

Commander's Log Cover art
Commander’s Log Podcast

Episode 8 came out last week, with Commander Harper meeting up with Allen Stroud before saying goodbye to Reidquat. Episode 9 will probably be out next week. This episode’s guest will be Dave Hughes, the man behind the Elite Encounters RPG So if you haven’t caught up with the latest podcast yet, try and get to it this week as next week we are full steam ahead for Tionisla.

I’ve also been bringing in some ‘ring in’s to help add back up atmosphere and voice into the podcast. I’ll be continuing to involve the Elite community with the podcast as much as possible so if you are interested in helping out (having a chat, doing a few lines, pretending to be an in-universe advertisement, whatever) then check out this thread over at the Frontier forums or email me. This weeks ring ins will be ‘Alien’ and ‘OneVigor’

Website Updates

I have been thinking quite a bit lately about this website and my weekly updates. Two questions come to mind:

1)Am I talking about the right stuff?
2)Am I updating at the right time?
3)Am I updating too often?

I picked Monday evening, New Zealand Standard time so that the website would be updated for Monday morning in the UK. I thought that’s a good idea. But maybe not? What do you think? Is that when you want to be reading about updates to this site? What would be a better time?

I think I am talking about things that are of interest to followers of And Here The Wheel, but I’d love to hear from you. The other writers each have their own approach, I chose mine based on what I would want to see as a supporter of a novel. But my feelings as a fan might not be YOUR feelings as a fan. Should the podcast be the update instead of all these words on the page? Maybe I should mix it up with videos. What works for you?

How about the tone of my updates? I go for a pretty casual, tongue-in-cheek sort of approach, because I sincerely believe that you need to laugh at yourself at least once a day and poking fun at my writing is a good way to do that. Is that what you want to read or do you want a very formal essay?

And what about the frequency? Is weekly too often? Is the editing process interesting enough to you to justify coming back every week?

—–

Thanks team. Thanks for stopping by. Remember to sign up for updates delivered straight to your inbox by entering your email address to the sign up box at the top right. Cheers, and see you next time.

John

4 responses to “Fictional Hijinks- Progress Report 22/7/13

  1. Hi John.

    I’m happy with the contents of the updates, and with the frequency, and the timing doesn’t worry me as I read/listen when I can. I particularly look forward to and enjoy the updates from yourself, Drew, Lave Radio and Frontier, and I enjoy the variety of topics and the tones in which they are given.

    As for your editation it’s often the case that the little changes make all the difference.

    I haven’t yet listened to your latest podcast, but I do enjoy them, almost as much as Lave Radio 😉

    As for the backstory and other such topics you may have covered, we may be interested even if we don’t comment. There’s an extra leap from passively reading to actively writing, so don’t be so hard on yourself. It may also be due to time constraints. I would go and feedback on the previous update now but I’m just off to play squash (on the hottest day of the year so far) after a nice day out on Mersea Island (Essex, UK).

    Keep up the good work sir.

    Steve

  2. Sorry John, I’ve been lurking rather than commenting. I like the frequency of your updates, and I found the back story ones very useful–I’m writing in a different genre to you, but the same principles apply. Keep up the good work, and best wishes with your project.

  3. /delurk

    Just to echo Steve’s comment – just because you don’t get comments doesn’t mean people aren’t interested. If anything, no comments means everyone is happy (because people are more likely to complain than compliment!)

    I like the frequency and content of the updates and think you should make them what you want them to be. That way you’ll enjoy writing them and they’ll be better!

  4. Thanks guys. As a writers you always try to get feedback on your writing (Alpha readers, etc) so I guess I’m still in that mindset. Glad to hear you are enjoying it. You can go back to lurking now 🙂

Leave a Reply

