Into the belly of the beast – Progress Report – 25/3/13

A very busy week, and not because of the writing. I’ve been doing a lot of non-writing related work for And Here The Wheel which I’ll talk about below.

Word Count for the week: 8,227 words. Not bad considering everything else I was doing. A little disappointed though. Will try a lot harder this coming week.

Total Word Count: 64,950.  One mega chapter sized scene done and dusted. Time for a regroup before the next brush with death.

 

64,950 / 100,000 (64.95%)

 

Quote du jour:
He’d been as near dead as a near dead person could be. He’d been right there, salvation just out of reach, flailing and stretching and praying a wordless scream as he’d watched the gash in the cruiser’s hull, lights still flashing from within, the cannon’s control waiting silently for their operator.

Commander’s Log Podcast

The cover art for the Commander's Log podcast

The cover art for the Commander’s Log podcast

Thanks to everyone who has downloaded the podcast. I hope you enjoyed it. And thank you to those that left review on Itunes. It took a while to figure out why I couldn’t see the reviews, but once i changed my Itunes shop to the UK they appeared as if by magic. If you have checked out itunes in the last few days you would have noticed that I slipped an ‘Episode #0’ in under the radar. This is a basic introduction to myself, the story and how it came to be. Common knowledge to most of you but perhaps quite important for any new listeners.

I’ll be releasing the second pod cast at the end of the week, which should give you all enough time to finish listening to the Lave Radio before plugging back in for some And Here The Wheel. This episode will be a bit longer. I’d love to hear your feedback on this. Is it too long, just right or still too short? Feedback on the content will also be greatly appreciated.

You may have noticed a few changes. Firstly the links page has been updated with new links and in an easier to read format. I’ve added the podcast RSS feed to the top of the sidebar on the right hand side. I have also added a new tab at the top of the page called ‘Podcast’. On this page I have the link to itunes as well as a direct download for each episode of the Commanders Log, so if direct download, RSS or Itunes is for you, then I have you covered somehow. Hopefully this will address the issues some people had been having.

Finally a request. If you have any questions for me, either personally or on the story and you would like them to be answered on the podcast please get in contact. Either send me a recording of you asking the question or write it in and I can voice the question. I’m very keen to keep this part of the podcast going, as I like involving you the readers and listeners in this journey toward publication. no questions asked, no questions answered 🙂

Lave Radio

If you’re sick of my voice then you’re plain out of luck. I managed to catch up with the Lave Radio boys while they were recording. I was sweltering in summer heat while they were suffering their coldest day yet. My audio quality wasn’t up to scratch but hopefully I don’t detract too much from the experience. it was great being part of that free for all ‘conference’ that they have. Good job on the editing is all I can say!

Newsletter

If you have been wondering when the next newsletter is coming out, fear not! In between audio mixing for the podcasts I have been working on the newsletter. It won’t be too far away. The newsletter gives extra background information on the writing process and story background in particular. Its another way to add value to those that have supported And Here The Wheel at the larger pledge levels. I have been struggling to find a way to talk about what I want to talk about without revealing spoilers. An option is to reveal spoilers anyway but ear mark them as such so people can avoid them if they want to.

So for those who pledged to the newsletter tier and above, watch your inboxs over the next few weeks, and for those that are interested in receiving the newsletter, the ‘Supporters’ tab at the top explains the support tiers. I’m happy to accept upgrades in support, i.e if you have supported me to get a copy of the e-book then you can pay the difference to upgrade to the newsletter. Just mention on your paypal payment that you are upgrading. I have a list of all supporters and their pledge levels so it won’t be any problem at all.
—–

Ok, that will do for this weeks update. Thanks for sticking around and talk to you next week.

Cheers,

John

One response to “Into the belly of the beast – Progress Report – 25/3/13

  1. Pingback: Massive Newsey Updatey Thingy!! | Space Game Junkie

Leave a Reply

